What can aspiring leaders learn from Baseball?

Having been brought up in India, I followed cricket with all my passion. Baseball was confusing to me–too similar to remind me of cricket and yet too different to comprehend.

However, everything changed this year when our University team, the mighty Houston Cougars, started to show their red color and win some tough games on the road. I started to take an interest and follow the team. As the season progressed, this interest began to turn into an obsession. I started to juggle my calendar to get to Cougar Field for their games.

The only problem was that the game involved too much specialized terminology for me.  To solve that, I found a “Baseball Glossary” online and attached the webpage to my IPhone home screen so I could refer to it any time as I listened to the unusual words and phrases.

Then one day, things changed.

I invited a friend to join me for one of the games without knowing that he had played baseball in college. He realized quickly that my knowledge of the game was elementary at best, so he asked if I would like for him to give me some pointers. I happily consented and that is when baseball became really interesting.

By the time, the season ended, our team, the Houston Cougars, had won an outstanding 48 games along with the conference championship and the NCAA Regionals. They played their hearts out and had the best season ever.

For me, the team not only won the season, but also taught me that baseball is much more than “America’s Past Time.” It provides an important lesson in leadership!

Why?

First and foremost, baseball is a game of teamwork!  The winning team does not win because individual hitters hit home runs; it wins because hitters and runners sacrifice their own time on the field in order to let the team score. In baseball, individual effort means a lot, but team effort means everything. Successful leaders have to do the same—get people to do their best, but also make them believe that the collective outcome of their actions is better than the sum of their individual bests.

Second, baseball requires multidimensionality in thinking and in execution…so many things to consider…so many players …so many moving parts! There are limited resources (pitchers and hitters) and the strategy revolves around knowing which one to deploy when and where to make the most of the ever-changing circumstances. Similarly, leadership is much more than garnering resources; it is about using what you have in the most impactful manner. It is about moving the needle!

Third, baseball is not about beating the clock; it is about finishing the task. One strike at a time…one pitch at a time without ever looking at the time!  Similarly, successful leaders don’t count their success in terms of years served or papers published. Instead, they focus on goals achieved!

Finally, baseball is about cashing in on rare opportunities. I noticed that the bases don’t always get loaded. But when they do, the team has to take a chance and go all the way…there is no reward for simply loading the bases or going half way.  Every person and every organization get rare opportunities. Some are not able to see them, others are not prepared for them, and still others are just too scared to act on them. Successful leaders take chances, they act and, consequently, they win.

To my Cougar baseball team—thank you for giving us all a thrilling season and for me, personally, these insights about leadership.  We’re so eager for the next season to start. As we baseball fans like to say, “Wait till next year!”

5 thoughts on “What can aspiring leaders learn from Baseball?

  1. Thanks for sharing. Your ideas go far beyond baseball. I especially like the concept of finishing the task vs. time running out. Well said and thanks from a UH alum

  2. Thank you for sharing your new found love of baseball, and also for your enthusiastic support of UH Athletics. I hope more students will follow your lead, especially at Cougar Field.

  3. I’ve always known that baseball was the greatest game ever played. Until now, I’ve never been able to put my finger on why. Thank you for articulating it so well. And thank you for supporting the team. Your presence and support at the games was noticed and appreciated.

  4. I am a former student of the mid to late 70’s, and I have never seen a UH President/Chancellor with such insight on all aspects of college student life. It was a pleasure reading your comments and humbling yourself as you did, showing us all that it is never too late to learn anything new. The manner in which you tied your analysis of baseball to leadership was, again, truly insightful. I am very proud to have you leading my alma mater.

  5. Excellent point that there is no reward for loading the bases. Here’s to finishing through the entire plan! Likewise, thank you for your longevity. Your willingness to lead UH all the way through the Gland Slam is making a big difference!

Leave a Reply

